Logan – Transcending the Superhero Genre

The latest trend in cinema right now are superhero movies. Those are the movie that are liked by the general audience, and the ones that are making serious bank. So therefore, the frequency of these films are increasing every year more and more, so it is only logical that the quantity is also increasing, as evidence very clearly by this film. This is allegedly Hugh Jackman‘s last time playing Wolverine, which makes this film all the more essential.

Hopefully, this film delivered in every way possible.

Here’s the synopsis from IMDb:

In the near future, a weary Logan cares for an ailing Professor X somewhere on the Mexican border. However, Logan’s attempts to hide from the world and his legacy are upended when a young mutant arrives, pursued by dark forces.

This movie was directed helmer of the previous Wolverine film James Mangold and also written by him, as well as Scott Frank and Michael Green. It stars the aforementioned Hugh JackmanPatrick Stewart reprising his role as Professor X, and newcomer Dafne Keen as Laura / X-23.

This film is one of the best films of the year by far. Yes, it is that good. What differentiates this film from all the other really good superhero movies is the heart that it has. We learn to grow with all of the characters, regardless of if they are new or old characters. On top of that, it also has the amazing action and thrills we’ve come to expect from the rest of the superhero movies. Also, Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart are great as always.

Although I’m smitten by how great this film is, it isn’t perfect. All movies have at least one thing that doesn’t work, and Logan isn’t any different. It definitely has its flaws… I just can’t find them for the life of me. In all seriousness, it does have a couple of things I could nitpick about, like the villains not being the most complex villains ever, or maybe some scenes that should’ve been cut, but it would just feel like I’m reaching too far for bad things with this film, and that doesn’t feel right.

Ultimately, I was blown away by how amazing this film was. The already-great marketing somehow did not prepare me for it’s effulgence. Films like The Dark Knight or The Avengers were amazingly made, but Logan was both amazingly made AND I could connect to it, which was the thing missing for me from those other two films. This film came out in March, but if a better movie comes out this year, it will be an outstanding film for outstanding cinema.

Final Rating – 4/5.

2 thoughts on “Logan – Transcending the Superhero Genre

  1. Good day I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What do you think of anti-heros having a more prominent role in movies? I mean Logan is a hero but he doesn’t want to be. I mean it hadnt followed the x men movies or know any background I would think Logan would be the perfect choice as a villian. So what is your opinion on Hollywood introducing anti-heros as a main character?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

